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The Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, vacated and remanded 

the decision of the Civil Service Commission (Commission) which denied the 

reconsideration request of Sean McManus, a Conservation Police Officer 21 with the 

Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), concerning his grievance on the rate 

of his cash overtime compensation for emergency-related work.  See In the Matter of 

Sean McManus, Docket No. A-0845-20 (App. Div. August 1, 2023).  The court did not 

retain jurisdiction.  A copy of the Appellate Division’s decision is attached hereto and 

incorporated herein. 

 

  By way of background, at the time of his grievance, McManus was serving as a 

Conservation Officer 3, a non-limited, non-exempt (NE) title where, instead of having 

a workweek fixed at 35 hours, McManus was required to work at least 35 hours per 

week with occasional requirements for a longer workweek.  The DEP was granted 

funding for an overtime project where it paid employees for the hours worked between 

35 and 40 hours per week based at the hourly proration of their base salary, while 

overtime after 40 hours was compensated at one-and-one-half times that rate.  

McManus filed a grievance stating that the State was now an employer subject to the 

recently modified New Jersey Wage and Hour Law (Wage and Hour Law) and the 

DEP’s method of calculating his overtime conflicted with the statute.  The DEP denied 

his grievance and McManus appealed to the Commission.  The Commission found that 

 
1 At the time of McManus’ grievance, he was serving as a Conservation Officer 3.  He was then promoted 

to Conversation Officer 2 effective December 18, 2021.  On January 1, 2022, the title’s name changed 

to Conservation Police Officer 2.  
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the Wage and Hour Law only covered the State as an “employer” for the purpose of 

ensuring payment of the minimum wage, which McManus’ salary exceeded.  It noted 

that McManus served in a NE title which had the same class code as comparable titles 

with a fixed 35-hour workweek, but the salary range was one higher to compensate 

for the occasional longer workweek.  Further, it indicated that NE titles are only 

eligible for cash overtime compensation for time worked in excess of 40 hours per 

week.  Therefore, the Commission denied McManus’ appeal, as it found that the DEP 

properly calculated his compensation in compliance with Civil Service regulations.  

See In the Matter of Sean McManus (CSC, decided April 15, 2020).  It also denied 

McManus’ request for reconsideration.  See In the Matter of Sean McManus (CSC, 

decided November 4, 2020).  Thereafter, McManus appealed to the Appellate Division 

and the Commission moved for remand, which was granted by order dated December 

7, 2021, to clarify its prior decision due to factual issues that arose.  Upon remand, the 

Commission reaffirmed its prior decision.  See In the Matter of Sean McManus (CSC, 

decided November 4, 2020).  The Commission reiterated that the NE position is at a 

higher salary range than comparable 35-hour per week titles to account for the 

occasional requirement to work more than 35 hours per week up to 40 hours per week, 

and, therefore, overtime was not required to be paid during this time.  McManus 

pursued a second appeal to the Appellate Division.   

 

Upon its review, in In the Matter of Sean McManus, Docket No. A-0845-20 (App. 

Div. August 1, 2023), the court found that under the Wage and Hour Law, McManus’ 

hours worked between 35 and 40 hours were to be calculated as overtime wages and 

the Commission wrongly relied on Civil Service regulations when calculating his 

overtime compensation.  Therefore, the Appellate Division vacated the Commission’s 

decision and remanded the matter to the Commission for a recalculation of McManus’ 

overtime based on the Wage and Hour Law.  Specifically, the Appellate Division found 

that:  

 

 By using the “the hourly proration of the employee’s annual base 

salary” in accordance with N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2, the Commission’s 

calculations improperly excluded petitioner’s earnings for the hours for 

which he was compensated between thirty-five and forty.  This is 

inconsistent with the plain language of N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e), which 

requires an employee’s “total earnings for the week” to be utilized in 

computing an employee’s “regular hourly wage.”  Similarly, the 

Commission’s utilization of N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.6(a)(4) is unpersuasive.  

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) does not exclude wages earned during the week, 

even if the wages were discretionary.  The Commission’s methodology 

must use the framework of the Wage and Hour Law when calculating 

petitioner’s overtime, and the regular hourly wage figure derived from 

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) must, in turn, be utilized when calculating 

overtime pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1).  
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 In short, the Commission’s decision was untethered to N.J.S.A. 

34:11-56a1(e) and N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1), and it did not properly 

consider the specific calculation required under these statutes when 

determining petitioner’s overtime, but instead relied on its own 

regulations.  Therefore, we remand for the Commission to calculate 

petitioner's overtime in accordance with this opinion. 

 

CONCLUSION 

 

 In accordance with the Appellate Division’s opinion, the Commission’s prior 

decision in this matter has been vacated and thus, McManus is entitled to have his 

cash overtime compensation for emergency-related work between 35 and 40 hours per 

week recalculated during the period in question.  The Commission orders that this 

rate be calculated by DEP consistent with the statutory provisions set forth in N.J.S.A. 

34:11-56a1(e) and N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1).  The DEP is directed to thereafter 

compensate McManus accordingly.   

 

ORDER 

 

The Commission’s orders that the DEP recalculate Sean McManus’ rate of cash 

overtime compensation for emergency-related work between 35 and 40 hours per week 

during the period in question in accordance with the statutory provisions set forth in 

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) and N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1), and thereafter, compensate 

McManus accordingly.   

    

This is the final administrative determination in this matter.  Any further 

review should be pursued in a judicial forum. 

 

DECISION RENDERED BY THE 

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION ON  

THE 22ND DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2023 

 

 
_______________________                                            

Allison Chris Myers 

Chairperson 

Civil Service Commission 

 

Inquiries     Nicholas F. Angiulo 

 and      Director 

Correspondence    Division of Appeals and Regulatory Affairs 

Civil Service Commission 

Written Record Appeals Unit 

P.O. Box 312 

      Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0312 
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Attorney General, of counsel; Daniel P. Resler, on the 

brief). 

 

PER CURIAM 

 Petitioner, Sean McManus, appeals from the November 6, 2020 final 

agency decision of the New Jersey Civil Service Commission (Commission) 

concerning his claims the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection 

(DEP) improperly calculated his overtime pay.  Following our review of the 

record and applicable legal principles, we vacate the Commission's decision and 

remand for further proceedings.  

I. 

Petitioner worked for the DEP as a Conservation Officer 3.  This title is a 

non-limited, non-exempt position meaning employees in this title have irregular 

or variable working hours and are covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 

U.S.C. §§ 201-219 (FLSA); N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2, 4A:6-2.3(b)(3).  Instead of 

having a workweek fixed at thirty-five hours, petitioner was required to "work 

at least a [thirty-five-]hour workweek with occasional requirements for a longer 

workweek to complete projects or assignments."  N.J.A.C. 4A:6-2.3(b)(1).  The 

Conservation Officer title had the same class code as comparable titles with a 

fixed thirty-five-hour workweek, but the salary range was one higher.  N.J.A.C. 

4A:3-4.9(g). 
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In 2019, the DEP sought approval and funding for an "overtime project" 

to enhance its ability to ensure compliance with oyster harvesting restrictions .1  

On May 23, 2019, the Commission granted the DEP's request for an "exceptional 

emergency declaration" for employees in the titles Conservation Officer 2 and 

Conservation Officer 3 "to provide law enforcement support to allow for the 

harvest of oysters from [the] Delaware Bay, Mullica River and surrounding tidal 

areas . . . ."  The declaration allowed DEP to pay overtime pursuant to N.J.A.C. 

4A:3-5.7(d).  The letter explained that "[a]ll hours worked" between thirty-five 

and forty hours per week "shall be paid at the hourly proration of their base 

salary[,]" while overtime after forty hours would be compensated at one-and-

one-half times that rate.2   

 Petitioner filed a grievance on the ground that recent legislation 

designated the State as an employer subject to the New Jersey Wage and Hour 

 
1  The program was designed to minimize the public health risk from consuming 

contaminated oysters.  

 
2  Although petitioner initially sought overtime compensation for the oyster-

related emergency time period, the Commission and the DEP maintain petitioner 

later conceded his overtime dispute did not involve this oyster-emergency time 

period.  As noted below, the Commission and the DEP argue the time period for 

which petitioner challenges the overtime calculations is irrelevant because his 

pay for hours thirty-six to forty was within the discretion of the appointing 

authority..  N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.3(a)(3), (d)(2).   
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Law,3 and the DEP's method of calculating his overtime compensation 

conflicted with the statute's new provisions.  On August 29, 2019, the DEP 

issued its decision denying the grievance.  On September 16, 2019, petitioner 

challenged the denial to the Commission.  The Commission issued its initial 

decision on April 17, 2020.  It noted the DEP's calculations properly relied on 

the regulation for overtime compensation during an exceptional emergency, 

which deemed the workweek of all employees with non-limited workweeks to 

be forty hours.  It rejected petitioner's statutory argument by finding the new 

legislation only covered the State as an "employer" for the purpose of ensuring 

payment of the minimum wage, which his salary exceeded.4  On November 6, 

2020, the Commission denied petitioner's motion for reconsideration because it 

determined the DEP properly calculated his cash overtime compensation 

consistent with Civil Service regulations.   

 
3  N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1 to -56a41.  

 
4  The Commission initially determined the amendments to the Wage and Hour 

Law expanding its coverage to State employees did not apply to overtime pay, 

but subsequently agreed it did in fact apply to State employers for the purposes 

of overtime compensation.  However, the Commission opposed petitioner's 

appeal on other grounds. 
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Petitioner subsequently appealed.  Thereafter, the Commission moved for 

a remand, which we granted.5  On January 21, 2022, the Commission issued a 

remand opinion in which it again denied the grievance appeal and issued an 

expanded opinion.  It emphasized that overtime was discretionary even for 

employees not exempt from FLSA coverage, and noted compensation for 

overtime hours worked as part of an exceptional emergency is calculated for all 

eligible employees on the basis of a forty-hour workweek.  

The Commission further determined a higher salary range is assigned to 

petitioner's non-limited workweek and explained a base salary predicated on 

working at least thirty-five hours per week is not "based upon working a fixed 

[thirty-five] hours per week."  The higher salary range for petitioner's non-

limited title "compensates for the irregular or variable nature of the work hours 

. . . ."  It also accounts for the fact that compensation at any rate for work hours 

between thirty-five and forty in a non-limited title is deemed to be "overtime 

compensation" and is therefore paid, or not, at the employer's discretion.  Thus, 

"employees [who] work at minimum [thirty-five] hours per week . . . may at 

 
5  The Commission sought to "clarify its prior decisions" because factual issues 

arose regarding its calculations of petitioner's overtime.  The Commission also 

implicitly acknowledged it had wrongly interpreted the new legislation as 

applying to the State only for the purposes of enforcement of minimum wage 

related issues. 
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times be called upon to fulfill a longer workweek—even up to [forty] hours—to 

complete projects or assignments, without additional compensation."  In other 

words, the higher salary range compensates the non-limited title employees for 

lacking entitlement to any compensation for overtime before working forty 

hours.   

The Commission further found a non-limited employee's lack of 

entitlement to overtime compensation before working forty hours means the use 

of thirty-five hours of regular pay in the numerator, and forty hours in the 

denominator, when calculating the hourly proration of base salary is consistent 

with the parameters of petitioner's title.  The actual payment of discretionary 

overtime, particularly when it was paid hour-for-hour between thirty-five and 

forty hours rather than at an "overtime premium" rate, did not change those 

parameters or the application of the relevant statutes and regulations.  That was 

true even for the new legislation, which the Commission had come to recognize 

as covering the State for all purposes, because it contained nothing to limit the 

discretionary nature of compensation in petitioner's title for work between 

thirty-five and forty hours per week.  The Commission concluded the payments 

for petitioner's work between thirty-five and forty hours per week were therefore 

properly excluded from the calculation of the hourly proration of his regular 
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hourly wage for overtime compensation, and the Commission accordingly 

upheld its denial of his application for reconsideration.  This appeal followed. 

II. 

A. 

Petitioner argues the Commission's decision should be reversed because 

the amendments to the Wage and Hour Law supersede the Civil Service 

regulations relied upon by the Commission and "wrongly places these . . . 

regulations above the Legislature's clear intention to expand overtime 

protections to State employees . . . ."  He further asserts the statutory 

interpretation is a purely legal question that is reviewable de novo, because the 

Wage and Hour Law is not within the Commission's expertise.   

Petitioner contends the Civil Service statutes bound the Commission to 

secure his rights under all statutes, and the new legislation had no exception for 

emergencies declared pursuant to Civil Service regulations.  N.J.S.A. 11A:1-

2(e).  He maintains his cash compensation for work hours beyond forty per 

workweek was paid at a rate less than one-and-one-half times his "regular hourly 

wages[,]" contrary to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1 and N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1).   

Specifically, petitioner contends the Commission erred by failing to 

consider all the compensation he was paid at a non-overtime rate in calculating 
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his "regular hourly wage" by disregarding the compensation he earned for 

working the hours between thirty-five and forty.6  In addition, he claims his 

compensation for his work between thirty-five and forty hours was not 

"discretionary" because the DEP always compensated him and his title cohort 

for those hours, and expressly promised to compensate petitioner for those 

hours.  Petitioner argues that regardless of the Commission's arguments 

regarding his regular workweek and base pay, and whether his overtime is based 

on forty hours under N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.7(d) and 4A:3-5.2, it is "legally irrelevant 

to setting an overtime rate under the Wage and Hour Laws because that is set by 

non-overtime wages earned [in a] week divided by [forty]."  In short, petitioner 

asserts that if the Commission uses a forty-hour workweek as the denominator 

or divisor in calculating his regular hourly rate, the numerator must include his 

compensation at non-overtime rates for the hours he worked between thirty-five 

 
6  Petitioner originally argued before the hearing officer his overtime rate should 

have been calculated by using a thirty-five-hour workweek and his regular base 

pay.  His current contention is the forty-hour workweek is a proper denominator 

provided the Commission utilizes his "regular hourly wage" as determined by 

his total earnings for a particular week as a numerator in the calculation.  
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and forty, in addition to his compensation for the first thirty-five hours pursuant 

to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1.7  

B. 

Ordinarily, our review of a final decision from an administrative agency 

is limited.  In re Adoption of Amends. to Ne., Upper Raritan, Sussex Cty. & 

Upper Del. Water Quality Mgmt. Plans, 435 N.J. Super. 571, 582 (App. Div. 

2014).  "A court may reverse only if it 'conclude[s] that the decision of the 

administrative agency is arbitrary, capricious, or unreasonable, or is not 

 
7  To illustrate, petitioner explains the specific impact of the Commission's 

calculations noting: 

  

[Petitioner's] base salary is $90,390 for his regular work 

at [thirty-five] hours or $1,738.26 per week . . . .  The 

additional five hours paid on an hour for hour basis [for 

his work between thirty-five and forty hours] are worth 

$248.30.  That total is the non-overtime wages earned 

and should be divided by [forty] hours resulting in an 

hourly rate of $49.66 per hour and an overtime rate (at 

[one-and-one-half]) of $74.50 per hour.  Instead, the 

[]DEP divided the base pay of $1,738.26 by [forty], 

excluded the [five] hours of pay at $248.30 from the 

total, and so reduced the hourly rate to $43.46, which 

in turn reduced overtime pay to $65.14 per hour.  The 

rulings by [the Commission] wrongly endorse this 

reduction of the overtime rate for [petitioner] below the 

required [one-and-one-half] threshold set by the Wage 

and Hour laws, notably N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1 and 

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4. 
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supported by substantial credible evidence in the record as a whole.'"  Ibid. 

(alteration in original) (quoting J.D. v. N.J. Div. of Dev. Disabilities, 329 N.J. 

Super. 516, 521 (App. Div. 2000)).  We are, however, not "bound by the agency's 

interpretation of a statute or its determination of a strictly legal issue."  Ardan 

v. Bd. of Rev., 231 N.J. 589, 604 (2018) (quoting US Bank, N.A. v. Hough, 210 

N.J. 187, 200 (2012)).  Nonetheless, as a general rule, "deference is given to the 

interpretation of statutory language by the agency charged with the expertise 

and responsibility to administer the scheme."  Acoli v. N.J. State Parole Bd., 

224 N.J. 213, 229 (2016); accord Hargrove v. Sleepy's, LLC, 220 N.J. 289, 301-

02 (2015).  Conversely, an agency's interpretation of statutes that do not guide 

its action and that it is not charged with administering is not entitled to 

deference.  In re Ridgefield Park Bd. of Educ. & Ridgefield Park Educ. Ass'n, 

459 N.J. Super. 57, 69 (App. Div. 2019), rev'd on other grounds, 244 N.J. 1 

(2020).  "[If] an agency's determination . . . is a legal determination, [the 

appellate court's] review is de novo."  L.A. v. Bd. of Educ. of Trenton, Mercer 

Cty., 221 N.J. 192, 204 (2015).   

 We further observe, "[t]he Legislature's intent is the paramount goal when 

interpreting a statute and, generally, the best indicator of that intent is the 

statutory language."  DiProspero v. Penn, 183 N.J. 477, 492 (2005) (citing 
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Frugis v. Bracigliano, 177 N.J. 250, 280 (2003)).  Furthermore, "[w]e ascribe to 

the statutory words their ordinary meaning and significance . . . and read them 

in context with related provisions so as to give sense to the legislation as a whole 

. . . ."  Ibid. (first citing Lane v. Holderman, 23 N.J. 304, 313 (1957), then citing 

Chasin v. Montclair State Univ., 159 N.J. 418, 426-27 (1999)).  More 

importantly, "[i]t is not the function of this Court to 'rewrite a plainly-written 

enactment of the Legislature[ ]or presume that the Legislature intended 

something other than that expressed by way of the plain language. '"  Ibid. 

(alteration in original) (quoting O'Connell v. State, 171 N.J. 484, 488 (2002)).  

Simply put, "[w]e cannot 'write in an additional qualification which the 

Legislature pointedly omitted in drafting its own enactment,' . . . or 'engage in 

conjecture or surmise which will circumvent the plain meaning of the act.'"  Ibid. 

(first quoting Craster v. Bd. of Comm'rs of Newark, 9 N.J. 225, 230 (1952); then 

quoting In re Closing of Jamesburg High Sch., 83 N.J. 540, 548 (1980)).  

Therefore, "[o]ur duty is to construe and apply the statute as enacted."  Ibid. 

(quoting In re Closing of Jamesburg High Sch., 83 N.J. at 548).   

C. 

 The issue before us is whether the Commission's calculation of petitioner's 

overtime pay is consistent with the Wage and Hour statutes and the various 
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administrative code provisions relied upon by the Commission.   In 2019, 

legislation was enacted modifying the Wage and Hour Law by expanding the 

definition of "employer" in N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(g) to include the State.  

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1) mandates overtime compensation for each hour of 

work per week beyond forty hours at "not less than [one-and-one-half] times 

such employee's regular hourly rate . . . ."  Importantly, N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) 

defines "regular hourly wage" as "the amount that an employee is regularly paid 

for each hour of work as determined by dividing the total hours of work during 

the week into the employee's total earnings for the week, exclusive of overtime 

premium pay."  

The Commission asserts, "discretionary payments by an employer are not 

considered part of an employee's base salary for purposes of determining 

overtime pay.  Here, [petitioner] had no contractual or civil service entitlement 

to additional payment for working between [thirty-six] and [forty] hours per 

week."  See N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.6(a)(4).  The Commission asserts, as a non-

exempt, non-limited title, petitioner has irregular and variable work hours not 
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limited to a specific thirty-five or forty-hour workweek.  See N.J.A.C. 4A:6-

2.3(b)(3); N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2.8   

The Commission notes petitioner's "overtime pay was calculated based on 

his regular base pay divided by [forty] hours a week, multiplied by [one-and-

one-half] times, to arrive at an hourly overtime rate."  (Emphasis added).  The 

Commission relies on N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2 for calculating petitioner's overtime.  

N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2 defines the "regular rate," in pertinent part, as "the hourly 

proration of the employee's annual base salary . . . ."  The regulation further 

provides, "[e]mployees in covered non-limited titles . . . shall be deemed to have 

a [forty]-hour workweek for determining the hourly proration . . .  ."  Ibid.  By 

using this approach in calculating petitioner's overtime, the Commission 

excluded the amounts he earned for working between the hours of thirty-five to 

forty because it determined his hourly proration should be based on his annual 

base salary.  We are unpersuaded. 

 
8  Petitioner maintains he has always been paid for working between thirty-five 

and forty hours.  The Commission asserts even if that is accurate, it does not 

change the fact the payments were discretionary.  That petitioner's compensation 

for working between thirty-five and forty hours may have been discretionary 

does not, in our view, change the analysis required under the new legislation, 

even if the Commission's interpretation of the regulations would have previously 

yielded a different result.   
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Although the Commission's opinion references the definition of "regular 

wages" in N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e), there is no explanation why the statute was 

not applied to calculate petitioner's overtime wages in this case.  Similarly, the 

Commission's and the DEP's submissions do not analyze the statute at all, but 

instead rely on various, inconsistent, administrative code provisions.  We 

observe N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) defines "regular hourly wage" as "the amount 

that an employee is regularly paid for each hour of work as determined by 

dividing the total hours of work during the week into the employee's total 

earnings for the week, exclusive of overtime premium pay."  (Emphasis added).  

First, there is no indication in the statute that discretionary payments, as 

argued by the Commission, are somehow excluded when calculating an 

"employee's total earnings for the week."  Second, by excluding the hours 

petitioner worked between the hours of thirty-five and forty, the Commission's 

analysis failed to properly calculate petitioner's overtime because it did not first 

determine his total earnings for the week.  Moreover, the Legislature could have 

carved out an overtime exemption for non-limited employees, such as petitioner, 

as it did for other positions under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1), but it did not do 



 

15 A-0845-20 

 

 

so.9  "'[T]he Legislature is presumed to be aware of judicial construction of its 

enactments,' and . . . 'a change of language in a statute ordinarily implies a 

purposeful alteration in [the] substance of the law . . . .'"  DiProspero, 183 N.J. 

at 494 (first quoting N.J. Democratic Party, Inc. v. Samson, 175 N.J. 178, 195 

n.6 (2002), then quoting Nagy v. Ford Motor Co., 6 N.J. 341, 348 (1951)).  

Therefore, "[o]ur duty is to construe and apply the statute as enacted."  Id. at 

492 (quoting In re Closing of Jamesburg High Sch., 83 N.J. at 548).   

The Commission's decision stated it "does not understand the Wage and 

Hour statutes cited by the petitioner as invalidating the framework concerning 

hours of work and overtime compensation under Civil Service law and rules or 

its application to the petitioner."  However, the methodology set forth in 

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) was not utilized by the Commission in calculating 

 
9  N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1) did exclude certain classes of employees outside 

of petitioner's title.  Specifically, the overtime statute does not apply to:  
 

Any individual employed in a bona fide executive, 

administrative, or professional capacity; or to 

employees engaged to labor on a farm or employed in a 

hotel; or to an employee of a common carrier of 

passengers by motor bus; or to a limousine driver who 

is an employee of an employer engaged in the business 

of operating limousines; or to employees engaged in 

labor relative to the raising or care of livestock.   

 

[Ibid.] 
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petitioner's overtime.  By using petitioner's "regular base pay" as opposed to his 

"regular hourly wage" as defined by N.J.S.A. 34:11-56(a)(1), the Commission 

applied the wrong figures in calculating petitioner's overtime pay.  N.J.S.A. 

34:11-56a1(e) does not speak in terms of "regular base pay" as the regulations 

cited by the Commission.  The Commission's reliance on N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2 is 

misplaced because N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) provides that petitioner's "regular 

hourly wage" is calculated by "dividing the total hours of work during the week 

into the employee's total earnings for the week . . . ."  

By using the "the hourly proration of the employee's annual base salary" 

in accordance with N.J.A.C. 4A:3-5.2, the Commission's calculations 

improperly excluded petitioner's earnings for the hours for which he was 

compensated between thirty-five and forty.  This is inconsistent with the plain 

language of N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e), which requires an employee's "total 

earnings for the week" to be utilized in computing an employee's "regular hourly 

wage."  Similarly, the Commission's utilization of N.J.A.C. 12:56-6.6(a)(4) is 

unpersuasive.  N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a1(e) does not exclude wages earned during the 

week, even if the wages were discretionary.  The Commission's methodology 

must use the framework of the Wage and Hour Law when calculating petitioner's 

overtime, and the regular hourly wage figure derived from N.J.S.A. 34:11-
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56a1(e) must, in turn, be utilized when calculating overtime pursuant to N.J.S.A. 

34:11-56a4(b)(1). 

In short, the Commission's decision was untethered to N.J.S.A. 34:11-

56a1(e) and N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(b)(1), and it did not properly consider the 

specific calculation required under these statutes when determining petitioner's 

overtime, but instead relied on its own regulations.  Therefore, we remand for 

the Commission to calculate petitioner's overtime in accordance with this 

opinion. 

To the extent we have not specifically addressed any other arguments, it 

is because we conclude they are of insufficient merit to warrant discussion in a 

written opinion.  R. 2:11-3(e)(1)(E). 

Vacated and remanded.  We do not retain jurisdiction. 
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